Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

May 5, 2017 May 5, 2017

Filed under: Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 6:59 am
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

This is the last sketch from my recent driving trip. After my youngest daughter joined me for the last week of my trip I did not set aside much time to sketch. On my last day in Charleston I walked the Battery area looking for manageable subjects. The houses there are beautiful, majestic and complex. I wanted to capture the feeling but didn’t have time for anything too large or impressive. AND I  wanted a house shaded by trees and decorated with sunlight dancing through dappled green.

My sketch was done with my watercolor pencils and crayons using a small brush (probably a #4) on a 6 inch X 8 inch watercolor sketchbook. And, unlike my earlier sketches, I used an ink pen to outline shapes since the sketch is so busy. This paper is heavy but I can’t work too wet or the surface “pills” and becomes hard to work with. I hope you can feel the sunshine! Its rainy in Indianapolis now and I could use a big dose of sunshine and warmth!

 

South Battery Charleston 042017

 

4 Responses to “May 5, 2017”

  1. Judy Says:

    I love this picture, Linda! It really captures the essence of those wonderful Battery houses, and the dappled light is perfect.

  2. ruthsartwork Says:

    So pretty. We visited Charleston once and I took a lot of photos. Everywhere you turn there seems to be a beautiful house and landscaping.


Leave a Reply

