Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

May 22, 2017 March 23, 2017

I have mentioned before that I put my paintings through a lengthy “living with it” period. I have my three acrylic abstracts propped up in my family room so I can scrutinize them. I thought you might want to see them together.

 

Green, Blue and Red Zone Paintings 03202017

 

This final evaluation is very tricky. It is easy to ruin a painting at this stage. I don’t think that I will risk further changes. Your thoughts?

The painting behind my abstract is an original watercolor done by an Indiana artist named Jimmy Faulkner. My husband fell in love with it at a fundraiser. Paintings were awarded by lottery and – happy surprise! – my husband’s name was drawn. The painting could not have found a happier home. You can learn more about Jimmy Faulkner here. Be sure you check out the online gallery.

 

 

2 Responses to “May 22, 2017”

  1. Granny Says:

    The Red Zone is my favorite of the three. It inexplicably makes me think of being a little kid and happily swinging on a swingset . . . maybe because it has some pendulum-like brush strokes. I’ve been doing more abstract work lately (watercolor on YUPO), so these three paintings of yours are inspirational, thanks!

    • Thank you! I really appreciate your comment and love it when one of my paintings “connects” with a viewer. I have also painted watercolor on Yupo. That is a real adventure! Good luck.


Leave a Reply

