Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

March 1, 2017 March 2, 2017

Filed under: Abstract,Acrylics,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 7:41 am
Tags: , , , , ,

I often call my abstracts splash-splash paintings. That should tell you a lot about my process! I started this painting with my liquid watercolors and it got too dark very fast. I created a real mess for myself. I looked and looked and decided that there was no way to recover if I used watercolor so I switched to acrylic. I don’t use acrylic often but I have a few dropper bottles of acrylic ink and a few tubes of heavy body acrylic – basically primary colors and a few secondary colors.

I had just finished reading my latest National Geographic magazine and it has an article about the state of our oceans. I began to think about schools of small fish and the way they flash like floating sparks as they move. Light, color, movement – that is what I was going for with this work. Sparks of floating color.

I used my spray bottle like I do with watercolor and was able to soften some areas and to build up some transparent areas. This is on 140# Arches CP paper and is a quarter sheet.

 

floating-0222017

 

6 Responses to “March 1, 2017”

  1. Harriett smith Says:

    I love this! It is so emotional. It touches me…..

  2. Judy Says:

    Oh I like that, Linda! An explosion of color!

  3. ruthsartwork Says:

    That’s interesting, Linda. My first impression when I looked at the photo and before I read your post was that it was a flowerbed in bloom. I guess I am waiting for spring. LOL


Leave a Reply

