Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

February 27, 2017 February 28, 2017

Filed under: Drawings,Portraits & Self Portraits — lindahalcombfineart @ 8:36 am
Tags: , , , ,

Recently I have been struggling with motivation. I decided that taking a class might add the incentive to be more disciplined so I registered for a Life Drawing Open Studio. We had our first session yesterday and I really enjoyed it. My mindset is that this class is just for fun and I can sketch what and how I want but I did learn very rapidly the importance of placement in the room. Need to get there earlier next time! I am not going to post everything I did yesterday but thought I would post a couple.

life-drawing-02272017

Both are 15-20 minute sketches on newsprint. In a life drawing class it is rather unusual to do a portrait but I thought I would give it a try. Here is the result…

life-drawing-potrait-02272017

 

9 Responses to “February 27, 2017”

  1. You might find that being with others who are creating will help to jump start yourself. Nice drawings.

    • I think you are right. One of the artists in this class is a fellow member of the watercolor society and it will good to get to know him better. He is a fantastic artist. He is also looking for new inspiration and is thinking about switching from watercolor cityscapes to acrylic landscapes for a while.

  2. aloha Linda. you make an excellent observation, that your viewpoint in the room is critical. which is always the case. and still, you can always draw what you see. very cool on recharging your energies with this life class. aloha.

  3. ruthsartwork Says:

    That is a great idea, Linda. Sometimes just getting started with a new activity helps with a stuck motivational attitude. And look at the new friends you are making.

  4. Fran Colley Says:

    very thoughtful and beautifully executed. I vote for less sombre and more light in your wonderful return to your art 🌸


Leave a Reply

