Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

February 26, 2017 February 26, 2017

Filed under: Abstract,Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 8:18 am
Tags: , , , ,

It has been a tough few months for many reasons. I haven’t had much time or energy for painting or drawing but I am beginning to get back to my studio. Have you ever noticed how your studio and drawing table get covered with lots of PAPER, magazines, flyers and other detritus when you are not actively creating? Well I am beginning to get my space organized again. I still have a stack of tax paperwork but that will be gone soon. Maybe I should do an abstract based on my emotional response to taxes…oh my!

shattered-02152017

Last week I completed this very small watercolor. It is not much larger than the image but was fun to do. I just played. Brushing, pouring, squirting. As many of you know I love color and I was trying to capture the idea of light splitting as it went through shattered glass. I have always been fascinated by the prism lightcatchers made by Pollyanna in the movie of the same name. So simple and such a beautiful effect. Light dancing on a wall…so beautiful!

 

9 Responses to “February 26, 2017”

  1. Harriett Smith Says:

    May the light be streaming back into your life. Sorry about your troubles.

    • Thank you Harriet. I am thinking color! and that always makes me happy. Also spending as much time as possible out-of-doors walking at the state park. Can’t wait for the soft colors of the Indiana spring.

  2. Judy Says:

    So happy to see you back on blog, Linda! I think you’ve captured that splintered light very well! Hope today’s sunshine cheers your heart. ❤

  3. Jonathan Day Says:

    Absolutely delighted to see a new post, and a new piece. A delightful new piece, in my opinion.

    The days are getting longer. Spring is coming. I hope the new season brings you peace and energy.

  4. Fran Colley Says:

    Oh my! At least the colors are pretty and light and not gray and haunting. Shows promise the tax papers will be conquered 🌸


Leave a Reply

