Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

October 2, 2016 October 3, 2016

Filed under: Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 1:07 pm
Tags: , , ,

I am just a little slow. After my last post I had to think about what I was doing. The pages in my Stained Glass pattern book are very hard and slick and nonabsorbent. Not the best for watercolor. For this work I laid down a layer of colored pencil, then watercolor, then more colored pencil and then more watercolor.

 

stained-glass-2-20161002-final

 

I picked this pattern because I walk my dog, Baxter, at Ft Benjamin Harrison State Park every morning. The forest is still largely green (I overload on green during the Indiana summers!) but there was a lovely gold and coral sunrise and the early sun hitting the tops of the trees gave them a glow. I tried to capture several shades of green, the blue sky and the drying grasses and undergrowth. I am still fiddling and diddling but am about ready to get serious!

 

7 Responses to “October 2, 2016”

  1. ruthsartwork Says:

    This does remind me of the outdoors. I love the spring and summer greens, too. Winter is hard for me with its lack of color. And the snow. And the cold. LOL

  2. Judy Says:

    Linda, this representation of morning colors is very appealing to me. I love the stylized tree!

  3. You are so right…Indiana is just gray and brown. Its very hard for me to deal with.

  4. Robert Says:

    This work is beautiful Linda

  5. lesliepaints Says:

    Hi Linda,
    Oh, I am just not the blogger I used to be… It is so hard to fit all in anymore. Good for you on your docent work. These stained glass patterns are so interesting and I do see why you were drawn to them. I remember you like geometric shape.


Leave a Reply

