Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

January 27, 2015 January 27, 2015

Filed under: Abstract,Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 7:38 am
Tags: , , ,

Late last year I started a series of paintings using analogous colors. I started with yellow and orange and used the process I use for my abstract paintings. My intention is to learn more about color theory and mixing colors. The abstract I created is titled Harmony in Yellow and Orange because my goal is to use color in a way that creates harmony, unity and balance. Here is my abstract.

Harmony in Yellow and Orange

Harmony in Yellow and Orange

I have been interested in doing a series of small realistic/representational paintings using the same colors. Below is my sketch using yellow and orange. I did it rapidly and wanted a loose feel. I work too tight when I paint realistically and that kills the fun for me. Unlike my abstract I used burnt sienna in this work but otherwise the colors are basically the same. I tell myself: you learn with each stroke you make.

Sketch - Yellow and Orange 012015

Sketch – Yellow and Orange 012015

 

11 Responses to “January 27, 2015”

  1. Great pepper and the yellow brought sun shine into my foggy morning. Lets grill that pepper and have it on some crunchy garlic toast. Well coffee too.

  2. Barry Coombs Says:

    I think you learn a lot by alternating between representational and abstract. It’s all painting. You’re sure right about learning with every stroke.

  3. Carol King Says:

    While both use the same colors, your Harmony painting simmers with heat. The yellow pepper is beautiful but to me reads slightly cooler. Is that strange. Love them both.

  4. ruthsartwork Says:

    I love this yellow pepper. It is so warm and flowing. You definitely should do more of these.

  5. It is really great to see the pairing if abstract and realistic in same colors. What a great idea. Lovely!

  6. I’m new to watercolor and I just love the abstract. How do you preserve the white circles and white lines? Some kind of masking material?


Leave a Reply

