Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

January 25, 2015 January 25, 2015

Filed under: Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 7:26 am
Tags: , ,

Well, a wintery mix is on the way. We have had moderate weather during the last week and it has been wonderful for me and the dogs – lots of walks! I have been working on my latest John Lovett exercise. It was more complicated and took some time to complete (especially since I was finishing the second season of Orange is the New Black on Netflix!) I have learned that I over dilute my colors. It took me two to three washes to do the deep colors in the painting. John did one wash. I tried to stay loose but it is a struggle. I think that is why I have been working on abstracts rather than realistic paintings. But I don’t LEARN when I take the easy way out! Anyway here is my latest exercise. It is on Fluid paper – 9″ X 12″ 140# CP – and I had some trouble with the sizing when I started. For my other exercises I used a 6″ X 9″ block of Canson paper which is more like the Arches that I normally use. Here it is.

House w/the Red Roof exercise

House w/the Red Roof exercise

 

One Response to “January 25, 2015”

  1. lesliepaints Says:

    Good job, Linda. I like how all the shapes come together in this. Also, it has been cold here this past week and all that warmth looks so inviting!


Leave a Reply

