Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

January 15, 2015 January 16, 2015

Filed under: Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 8:25 am
Tags: , , ,

I completed my second exercise and am gaining confidence as I go. I followed all of John’s instructions and then I “made it my own”. I painted a simple fish in a dark environment. I didn’t really like the quinacridone gold fins and I had trouble with the background so I scrubbed back the fins and made them a purply gray and then I flicked in bubbles. The bubbles are in a reverse S pattern and help walk the viewer through the small painting.

Fish Exercise 012015

Fish Exercise 012015

I am still struggling with realism but am making some progress. I’m willing to take it slow. John’s instructions are also a good reminder about how to mix certain colors. Thank you John!

 

14 Responses to “January 15, 2015”

  1. Harriett Says:

    I love everything about this – the sense of movement, the intricate color shadings, etc. keep up the good work!

  2. Isabella Says:

    This is wonderful, the colors are so pretty, and i love the bubbles!!
    Keep up the amazing work!
    Love,
    Isabella

  3. lesliepaints Says:

    Wonderful! I remember and went dashing for my book, Linda. I really like how you got the shadowed tail of the fish that gives this depth and makes it appear real. The water is AWESOME!!!!!!

  4. Anne Says:

    Beautiful! That fish looks like it’s about to flick its tail and dart away.

  5. ruthsartwork Says:

    What a wonderful looking fish. You should be very pleased with the way you made it your own.


Leave a Reply

