Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

January 13, 2015 January 14, 2015

Filed under: Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 7:56 am
Tags: , , , , ,

I enjoy painting abstracts in a spontaneous manner and have been very pleased with the process I’ve developed and the paintings I’ve created over the last four years. I am happy with the work I’ve done recently to work with and learn about color in my “Harmony” series. However, recently one of daughters said she had a wish that I would do more realistic paintings. I actually have been thinking the same thing. It would be a nice way to expand my “harmonies” in a new dimension. Suddenly I realized that I was scared. I am afraid that I have lost any ability to paint realistically. I haven’t been painting very long (since 2007 as anything other than a copyist of photographs in calendars) and over half of that time has been doing abstracts. I have always admired the work of my fellow blogger, John Lovett. You can see his work on his Splashing Paint blog. I found two of his earlier instructional books available on Amazon and purchased them. I have completed the first two exercises in his “beginner” book

Getting Started by John Lovett

Getting Started by John Lovett

. My work is rough and I may do them again but I have a start! Here is my brick wall

Brick Wall exercise 012015

Brick Wall exercise 012015

and here my stone wall. I’ve learned I haven’t quite forgotten everything and that I can problem solve and push forward.

Stone Wall exercise 012015

Stone Wall exercise 012015

 

4 Responses to “January 13, 2015”

  1. lesliepaints Says:

    Excellent, Linda! This is the book I have recommended for many years for my beginners. Easy to read and follow without becoming bored and good directions for many techniques. Great job on the walls!

  2. ruthsartwork Says:

    These are very nice. Sometimes using a workbook can give us the sense of direction and focus we need.


Leave a Reply

