Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

January 2, 2015 January 6, 2015

Filed under: Abstract,Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 7:36 am
Tags: , ,

I have had a rough few weeks. A respiratory infection knocked me out over the Christmas holidays. I was a mess BUT then I got to pack up and head for Gulf Shores for the New Year’s holiday. We had warm, lovely weather much of the time and I was able to take long walks on the beach. I had my whole family with me and did painting sessions with two GREAT-Granddaughters during the week we were there. My mantra was “dream, laugh, doodle”. During our painting sessions we used tempura paint and cheap drawing paper. I completed this “dab. dab, dab” abstract because I wanted to do a cruciform composition and had to do something simple and mindless while I helped the girls (3 and 5 years old).

Dab Abstract 012015 GS

Dab Abstract 012015 GS

This was fun and I think I used so much yellow to represent the sunny, warm day. I was also thinking about Cezanne’s brush strokes that are geometric, broad and fragmented…dab, dab, dab. The three year old made a lovely color of mud and I got to introduce her to the color “ochre”. What fun!

 

6 Responses to “January 2, 2015”

  1. Love it and that you painted with your ggrandaughters. Great recovery!

  2. lesliepaints Says:

    Excellent idea and fun to work with your grandchildren! I know the feeling. I am most impressed with your color choices, here. They work so well together! I love it when something works with yellow!

  3. ruthsartwork Says:

    The first thing I thought of when I looked at this was a scene of buildings on the beach. Nice.


Leave a Reply

