Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

November 16, 2014 November 16, 2014

Filed under: Abstract,Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 5:00 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

I am sitting here watching the snow drift slowly to the ground. We should have 2 inches of snow by 7:00 am tomorrow morning. It’s very peaceful so I thought I would write a new post.

I have completed my third painting in the Harmony series. This one is Harmony in Yellow, Orange and Green. I used 5 yellows, 2 oranges, 2 greens and panicked because the painting was so aggressive and unpleasant looking. I pulled out my trusty quin gold and painted a light wash over about 80 percent of the painting. That added a subtleness that encouraged me to proceed. I did finish the painting and am happy. It is so hard to work with orange and combining it with green in a colorful abstract can careen out of control quickly. Here is the final painting.

Harmony in Yellow, Orange and Green

Harmony in Yellow, Orange and Green

 

6 Responses to “November 16, 2014”

  1. lesliepaints Says:

    This is beautiful, Linda! I like these green paintings you are doing. You have found a way to make the power of the watercolor greens work really well in an abstract and I admire that. I know what you say about orange. I have found an orange that I just love and have to have on my palette. It is a Cheap Joe American Journey color called “Halloween Orange” in case you would be interested in trying it. I find it a lot lighter than other oranges and has more transparent qualities than others I’ve worked with. I think you handled the orange beautifully in this, though!

    • I am always looking for new colors to try. My oranges in these paintings are actually yellows – chrome yellow and hanse yellow deep but they look orange to me. Cad orange is so dense and opaque I hate using it. It takes over. Thank you, Leslie. I always appreciate your comments!

  2. ruthsartwork Says:

    I like the flow you have creates with the oranges and greens. Very fall to me. I’m not ready for the snow quite yet. We managed to not get as much as predicted, which I was happy to see.

  3. Carol King Says:

    I liked reading about your process. I would panic using orange and green together and thinking I would just get mud. You’ve managed to combine these two colors very successfully. And who doesn’t love quin gold.


Leave a Reply

