Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

November 10, 2014 November 11, 2014

Filed under: Abstract,Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 7:29 am
Tags: , , , , ,

“Painting is by nature a luminous language.”      – Robert Delaunay

Isn’t that the truth? I want to speak that luminous language so I continue my work with color. The painting I am posting today is titled Harmony in Yellow and Green. I am trying to understand the use of color and I have much to learn. Because Wassily Kandinsky’s book The Spiritual in Art influenced so many early modernists I have been rereading the sections about color. Some highlights:

A well-balanced mixture of yellow and blue produces green. The horizontal movement ceases: likewise that from and towards the centre. The effect on the soul through the eye is therefore motionless…Green is the most restful color that exists.

In music the absolute green is represented by the placid, middle notes of a violin.

I don’t know if I agree 100% with everything Kandinsky says but who am I to disagree! I do know that, while walking at the State Park this summer, I pondered why I always am drawn to paint the Spring and Fall seasons but not Summer. It hit me like a rock…too much green! Kandinsky’s words helped me understand this response.

Harmony in Yellow and Green was painted with 5 different yellows, 2 greens and one green mixed on the paper using Hansa Yellow Light and Pthalo Blue. I let each of the colors dry thoroughly before applying the next color. A painting takes three or four days to complete. I thought the value structure was much better than my last painting. I am always open for comments and suggestions. When trying to improve my painting, I leave my ego at the door!

Harmony in Yellow and Green

Harmony in Yellow and Green

 

 

 

6 Responses to “November 10, 2014”

  1. Barry Coombs Says:

    Kandinsky thoughts on colour are very interesting. Franz Marc, on the other hand, was downright intriguing. I lifted the following from the internet: “Blue is the male principle, astringent and spiritual. Yellow is the female principle, gentle, gay and spiritual. Red is matter, brutal and heavy and always the color to be opposed and overcome by the other two.”

  2. lesliepaints Says:

    I find your use of green and yellow, in this, refreshing. It’s clean and reminds me of earth and the ground and staying with our roots. Your other paintings reminded me of sky and space. There was more energy to them. I have long felt that the primary colors vibrate more strongly than the secondary colors. I think that me because I see more greens, oranges and purples in nature and more reds, yellows and blues in festive moments (like a carnival). I like this, Linda.

  3. Robert Says:

    There is so much to see in your beautiful paintings, Linda.

    >


Leave a Reply

