Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

November 9, 2014 November 10, 2014

Filed under: Abstract,Daily Post,Uncategorized — lindahalcombfineart @ 7:41 am
Tags: , ,

Tomorrow, along with another docent at the Indianapolis Museum of Art, I am doing a Printmaking Workshop for our Asian Core docents. Marni, my fellow docent, introduced me to gadget prints and I spent yesterday afternoon learning how to do them. Basically, you scavenge your home and garage for “gadgets” that have a nice shape and a sturdy composition so they can be hammered to make an imprint. I found that using styrofoam plates for my printing plate worked well. I could cut them into rectangles on my paper cutter and they are very soft and take an imprint easily. I made two different plates. The below photo shows my two plates after they were inked and their corresponding prints. I learned I could also draw on the plates using a wooden skewer as a stylus. The lighter work had watered down ink so it is not as dark. I learned a lot and like the print with circles (you know me – of course I like circles!) Anyway, this was easy and fun. I’m going to do more with my grandchildren. Enjoy!

Gadget Prints

 

4 Responses to “November 9, 2014”

  1. Carol King Says:

    that’s very cool!


Leave a Reply

