Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

August 31, 2014 September 1, 2014

Filed under: Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 6:07 pm
Tags: ,

I have a good friend who has owned and enjoyed the work of Mordechai Rosenstein for years. About a year ago he was the artist-in-residence at her temple. He gave the congregation copies of one of his large drawings. So she could have a better quality work of art, I transferred her drawing to watercolor paper and she has been painting on it for several months. It is an extremely complex 11″ x 14″ piece. I had her make a color study first to work out her color scheme. While she did that, I made two “mash-ups” (isn’t that the new term for putting pieces together to make a new whole?) . Now I am finally getting around to painting them. I may give each of her children one of the paintings. They both were married in the last year (that’s another reason the painting is taking so long.) Here is the first piece I’ve finished. His motifs, my design, color scheme and painting.

Mash-up of Mordechai Rosenstein motifs

Mash-up of Mordechai Rosenstein motifs

For more information about this artist see:  http://rosensteinarts.com/index.html

 

 

3 Responses to “August 31, 2014”

  1. lesliepaints Says:

    This is so interesting, Linda. I checked out his work and really liked the ones he did in the music category a lot. I like what you designed and painted, here, too!

  2. Thank you, Leslie. I am trying to find things that are fun to work on so I will keep painting. Trying to get out of this slump!

  3. Carol King Says:

    I just looked at his work and you did a phenomenal job with your painting. Great and exciting new work!


Leave a Reply

