Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

July 27, 2014 July 27, 2014

Filed under: Daily Post,Drawings — lindahalcombfineart @ 2:20 pm
Tags: , , ,

Well, I’m slow but I’m steady. I walk my dogs every morning at Ft Benjamin Harrison State Park. This is a vey nice, welcoming Indiana State Park on the east side of Indianapolis. Ft Ben holds one of the military’s largest finance centers (payrolls, etc). The Finance Center is still in operation but the other military functions were ended in the 1990’s and the fort is now a state park with two lakes, a stable and miles of trails full of joggers, bikers, skaters, dog walkers and families. I have always been fascinated by the old, weathered trees. I don’t know why, but old trees frequently seem to have a personality – a history that is written on their surface like the lines in a person’s face. I wanted to do a drawing of the tangled, interwoven roots in one section of the park. The soil has been washed away and the grand old trees stand exposed. I completed this drawing yesterday and was pretty happy with it.

Ft Ben SP 1

 

18 Responses to “July 27, 2014”

  1. Judy Stohler Says:

    Linda, I love this drawing. The juxtaposition of the soft, vibrant foliage and the ragged, desperate roots is mesmerizing.

  2. Chris Carter Says:

    Beautiful and sensitive!

  3. Harriett Smith Says:

    Oh Linda, you take my breath away with this. It is where my soul lives.

    • My morning walk is a time when I try to be mindful and to feel the spirit of nature. However, Bax and Buffy are usually playing tug of war with me in the middle. Can you teach a dog to be mindful????

  4. lesliepaints Says:

    I like, especially how you featured the roots of this tree. You have shown us the tree’s grip. Good drawing, Linda!

  5. This is a beautiful drawing Linda. A lot of character.

  6. Robert Says:

    This place sounds truly inspirational Linda 🙂

    >

  7. Carol King Says:

    Very nice drawing Linda. I love the tangled roots.

  8. ruthsartwork Says:

    Very interesting root structure and textures.


Leave a Reply

