Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

July 7, 2014 July 7, 2014

Filed under: Daily Post,Drawings — lindahalcombfineart @ 4:39 am
Tags: , ,

For the last 18 months I have been struggling with my art. I had a burst of creativity at the time I lost my husband to cancer and since then I have generally been unhappy with my work. The weather and the seasons seem to be the only thing that inspires me. My watercolors are muddy and while I occasionally do a nice painting I seem to lack consistency. Everything I paint is a relearning experience. Whine! Whine! Whine!

I just returned from a family trip to Italy. As I prepared for the trip I went through two wonderful Teaching Company courses, one covered the career and art of Michelangelo and one Leonardo da Vinci. It suddenly hit me that all great artists are great draughtsmen. So I am going back to the basics, starting with drawing. This is actually a super “good thing” because I love to draw. I took one of my old beat-up sketchbooks with me to Italy. I didn’t have time to sketch until our last day. We were in Venice and I did two quick architectural sketches. neither is very good. The crowds were heavy, the sun was bright and I had to dodge and weave to see my subject. BUT it was fun and I lost myself for a few hours. Here is my rough sketch of a corner of the Basilica of Sam Marco.

Corner of the Basilica of San Marco

Corner of the Basilica of San Marco

And her is San Giorgio Maggiore drawn peaking between visitors in line to enter the Doge’s Palace…very tough to see and to capture any detail!

San Giorgio maggiore

San Giorgio maggiore

 

21 Responses to “July 7, 2014”

  1. Judy Stohler Says:

    So good to see you back, Linda. You’re off to a great start, and what an inspiration you’ve received from your recent trip!

    • Stacia Says:

      Yes, glad you’re back – have missed learning from your posts! Hey, not sure if I told you that I placed your Napa Valley 1 Watercolor onto my Pinterest page and someone has “repinned” it! So even while you were on hiatus, folks have continued to enjoy your work 🙂

    • Thank you Judy. I’m still struggling with motivation but when I draw I lose myself.

  2. This two are lovely, Linda. You are finding your way in this world without Ken. This is very stressful for you so give yourself and your art a lot of lee way. You may end up creating in an entirely different way. Blessings, Gretchen

  3. Ruth Bailey Says:

    These drawings are lovely, Linda! I like the “unfinished” aspect of them, because my imagination keeps drawing where you left off. It has made me wonder how you could incorporate these images into your lines and circles paintings. Architectural elements in white with the colors flooding through them providing an emotional component? (Sorry, not trying to compose for you, just filled with too many ideas!)

  4. lesliepaints Says:

    All I can say, is I am so glad I popped over and saw that you posted!!!!! Bravo! You have been missed! We are our worst critics and never see the worth of what we create, methinks. It is my hope that you will create through the mist. You are a true artist…… I like your drawings!

  5. Jonathan Day Says:

    So very happy to see you back, Linda. The drawings are excellent, and you are right — a return to basics is never a waste. Hurrah for you!

  6. I missed seeing your posts too, and glad you’re getting back into art. I really can relate to getting “lost” in time while sketching.

  7. Didn’t know about your husband, Linda…My condolences.
    Beautiful drawings!

  8. Robert Says:

    I’m so pleased you’ve started posting again Linda, Robert

  9. carolcking Says:

    Nice to see you back and I’m glad you posted your sketches. I like your drawings very much.

  10. ruthsartwork Says:

    I like both of these very much. I am glad you are putting the fun back in your art endeavors.


Leave a Reply

