Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

January 29, 2014 January 29, 2014

Filed under: Abstract,Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 7:21 am
Tags: , , , , ,

BRRRRR! Still cold here in Indianapolis, Indiana. Later this week it may get up to freezing…a heat wave. OK, I know I need to stop whining – boring! So I started thinking about the beauty of sun on snow. I love the colors you see in the shadows and the beautiful colors you see when sky, trees and buildings are reflected. Pinks and blues and lavendars. I wanted to try a new technique using plastic wrap so I did a new painting I call Winter 2014. I guess we only want to remember the good stuff.

Winter 2014 #1

Winter 2014 #1

The darks are intended to represented the discomfort and depression many are feeling. Right now those feelings are just below the surface. Also the deep shadows you see in bright sunlight. Overall the painting was successful because I love color and this combination is very nice…I just did not leave enough WHITE.

 

 

11 Responses to “January 29, 2014”

  1. aloha Linda. yeah, i understand the cold. it’s been cold for here too. not your kind of could but for here with no heat in the houses, cold enough.

    i like this as is. i like the format. and color. and your thinking that lead to it. and imo, the white space is enough. aloha and a little warmer on you. at least above freezing.

    • Linda Halcomb Says:

      Thank you Rick. As soon as I set this painting up my “living with it period” I found it to be pleasing. I like the dark values and the way they harmonize and are not jarring.

    • yes. the transitions are beautiful—i like that. and there is a great range of value to explore and lead the eye. i think it would be way fun to live with this painting for a long time. fun on that. aloha.

  2. Ruth Bailey Says:

    Beautiful color combinations, Linda. This one has energy within calmness. Where would you have left more white?

  3. ruthsartwork Says:

    Whine away, Linda. I feel the same way. Work has been slow going in the studio for me. I live the colors.

    • Linda Halcomb Says:

      I intend to enjoy that warm wind from the South today. A wind chill of only 3 degrees – not 17 below – suntan weather!

  4. Robert Says:

    One of the reasons we moved from the chill of England to Australia was for the Summer sunshine and the mild Winters. Even so I enjoy nothing more than an open fire to help me shrug off the cold. I’m sending you the warmest wishes I can Linda 🙂

    >

    • Linda Halcomb Says:

      Thank you Robert. I appreciate it. I have a good friend that just returned to Indianapolis from Adelaide. It was a shock for her. The weather here is very extreme and I think we have broken the record for snow during the month of January. I am looking forward to February!

  5. lesliepaints Says:

    I have truly seen enough of the white stuff, Linda and you can complain all you want! This winter has been tuff. I love the colors used in this piece!

    • Linda Halcomb Says:

      Thank you, Leslie! Even though the melting snow looks pretty dirty right now, I appreciate the warmer weather.


Leave a Reply

