Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

January 12, 2014 January 12, 2014

Filed under: Abstract,Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 3:03 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

I did a second Chicago painting and it has passed the waiting and watching phase. This one went more smoothly and is not as dark and ominous. When I started working on this painting I was thinking about a beautiful morning we spent walking through Centenniel Park…bright June sunshine, brilliant green grass, shining lake water.

Chicago 2

Chicago 2

With my lines I tried to reflect the canyon-like feel you get looking up the streets that cross Michigan Avenue…the spaces between streets lined with skyscapers. The red again reflects energy and the excitement of the city. When I look at this now I get a feeling of dance and movement. That seems just right.

 

13 Responses to “January 12, 2014”

  1. Xraypics Says:

    Hi, Linda, What you are doing is interesting and rather beautiful. I like the balance of line and colour. Have you read “Point and Line to Plane” by Kandinsky circa 1914? It’s startlingly modern and good, and the theory accords closely with your work. Tony

  2. Carol King Says:

    Ah, yes. Dance and movement. I see it too. I’ve always meant to ask you. How do you get your white circles?

  3. I use masking fluid and draw around a glass or bowl. Sometimes I do an underpainting first and sometimes I don’t. It really changes the appearance. As a matter of fact with this painting I “lost” so much definition because of the underpainting that I had to use white gouache to paint over my circles and lines.

  4. Stacia Says:

    Nice effects! Like the vibrancy!

  5. ruthsartwork Says:

    I like the greens and the touch of red and yellow. I grew up in a south suburb of Chicago. My dad worked downtown for many years and often talked of the cold winds whistling down the canyon like streets. And sometimes you could see a peek of the yellow sun if you were in the right place.

  6. theINFP Says:

    I enjoy looking at the depth and movement in your paintings, thank you for sharing them


Leave a Reply

