Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

January 8, 2014 January 8, 2014

Filed under: Abstract,Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 7:53 am
Tags: , , ,

In June I spent a week at the Chicago Institute of Art studying their collection. This was through a Road Scholar course and we were able to enter the museum before hours and had gallery sessions led by various experts from their Education department. I really loved the experience and came home inspired by the city of Chicago. I have worked for several months on two paintings that reflect my responses to the city. My first painting is completed – the “living with it” phase took many months as I continued to tweak the painting.

Chicago 1

Chicago 1

With this painting I wanted to capture several thoughts about the city. First of all the blues and greens are a representation of the big sky and lake. The red and magenta are intended to express the energy and movement I feel when I walk the streets of Chicago. I also wanted to capture the sense of risk and danger I feel in a big, fast, unknown city and so the dark, swirling shapes that often mask a part of the other shapes. I love being in the cities of Chicago and New York but I am not comfortable there and am always glad to be home.

This work is done on a half sheet of 300# Arches CP paper

 

8 Responses to “January 8, 2014”

  1. Barry Coombs Says:

    What a great experience! Your painting is a very thoughtful response to the Chicago dynamic.

  2. ruthsartwork Says:

    I like the texture that the colors give this painting. It has quite the rainbow effect.

  3. Carol King Says:

    I always like these abstract paintings of yours and I like your description and the energy of the painting.

  4. lesliepaints Says:

    Very cool, Linda. This gives me such a strong feeling of turmoil and restlessness like seeing HUGE weighty black clouds move in. It really captured that eerie feeling of the unknown. I like that. The darks are excellent and provide the contrast needed to make me feel that. Excellent.

    • Linda Halcomb Says:

      Thank you Leslie! When I’m in Chicago I always feel on the edge. Watchful and wary…I think that comes through.


Leave a Reply

