Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

December 8, 2013 December 8, 2013

Filed under: Abstract,Daily Post,Drawings — lindahalcombfineart @ 7:54 am
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I am still playing with my markers and colored pencils.Using line and color is not only fun but is very rewarding. While doing these geometric drawings I think about every line – will it be thick or thin? will it be vertical, horizontal or diagonal? What value will it have? I felt so drawn to this design that I seriously considered leaving it black and white

Lines 3 Gray Scale

Lines 3 Gray Scale

I decided to use a vibrant yellow-green and to use only this one rather neon color. The design is rather complex and I wanted to keep the color scheme simple. I think it works!

Lines 3 Color

Lines 3 Color

The gray scale markers are cool gray rather than the warm gray markers. I think that’s why they look almost blue beside the yellow-green. The warm gray markers frequently look pink in photographs.

 

6 Responses to “December 8, 2013”

  1. Stacia Says:

    These are fun! The words that instantly came to mind were cinematic art deco! I love the retro feel. I’d be curious to see another shot of the “Lines 3 Gray Scale” where the white is as white as is displayed in the “Lines 3 Color.” Part of maybe what I like about the first one is the muted, grayish white – a softer touch. I wonder if I’d feel the same if it were the blazing white. . . .

  2. Ruth Bailey Says:

    These really jump off the page, Linda!

  3. Diane Says:

    I really like where you are going with your artwork Linda! Been a while since last I visited and really amazing to see the shift in direction you’re taking and exploring – your inquiry into thickness, thinness of lines and green, yellow, black, white configured into this elegant artwork, for me, makes your work an authentic expression. Thank you for sharing.

  4. ruthsartwork Says:

    It’s interesting to see how the addition of the color changes the work.

  5. Carol King Says:

    I like your graphic lines. I think the addition of the yellow-green really works well. This reminds me of the artwork of a famous artist whose name unfortunately escapes me at the moment.

  6. lesliepaints Says:

    Superb! This design dazzles my eyes, Linda.


Leave a Reply

