Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

December 2, 2013 December 2, 2013

Filed under: Abstract,Daily Post,Drawings — lindahalcombfineart @ 8:29 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

I am having so much fun working with my markers and colored pencils…with line and circle. Here is another drawing done with my gray scale markers. You may remember that I am trying to work on developing good compositions when I do these. This drawing has a major flaw (in my mind). I believe the top right section would look more balanced and interesting if the lines came off like rays of the sun or were at least angled more sharply.

Lines 2 Gray Scale

Lines 2 Gray Scale

With this drawing I wanted minimal, soft color and used pink, blue and purple. I thought of color as an embellishment rather than a major component.

Lines 2 Color

Lines 2 Color

 

 

11 Responses to “December 2, 2013”

  1. Stacia Says:

    For whatever it’s worth, I really like the grayscale one. I might agree that the upper right could be played with, but at the same time, I sort of like the dissonance. If the angles were changed it might be more balanced & harmonic, but as is, it seems to be making a statement. Either way, I think it works! Perhaps you have the beginnings of a series. . . .

    • Thank you Stacia. I really like the gray scales as well. Since I’m trying to learn as much as possible from these exercises I push myself to go the next step which is color. When I’m painting I seem to forget about values and their importance because of my love of color.

  2. Glad to know you’re having fun, Linda! Like it.

  3. Ruth Bailey Says:

    Hmm… I’d like to see this one done again with the lines in the upper right going off like the rays of the sun, like you suggested. I think that the upper corner would then “play better” with the rest of the composition. I like the subtle colors you chose.

  4. lesliepaints Says:

    Very spacious, Linda! I like the contrast of circle and line and I feel like I am in a huge space looking up through a glass ceiling.

  5. ruthsartwork Says:

    It looks as if you are having fun with these geometrics, Linda. It is an interesting idea to use the color as embellisment. You can then accent where you want.

    • Linda Halcomb Says:

      It’s always interesting to think about the role of color in these…equivalent to line and value? more important? less important? The decision gives me options and can lead to something totally different from the one before…

  6. max Says:

    How are you doing with Edward Betts ideas? I’ll share results of my latest if you’re interested.
    re your geometric work if you do in color here’s a tip I just read re “halos”. If you paint a color in a circle use it’s complement in the background but add a halo of the same circle color only cooler i.e. if red orange circle add halo of red Does that work for you?


Leave a Reply

