Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

November 29, 2013 November 29, 2013

Filed under: Abstract,Daily Post,Drawings — lindahalcombfineart @ 6:12 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

I have become fascinated by Henri Matisse and his ability to integrate very complex patterns, colors and objects to make a unified, harmonious whole.  Composition is my weakest point and I continue to struggle, study and learn as much as I can about the subject. Thinking about Matisse and one of the paintings in the exhibit at the IMA, I decided to work with line again. I used my gray scale markers to draw a sheet full of lines and circles.  Maybe it is because I love math and logic but I seem to gravitate towards very orderly, balanced (does that mean boring???) arrangements.

Lines - Gray Scale

Lines – Gray Scale

This seems very mechanical but I liked it. I had just about decided not to add color but gave myself a little poke and said – hey! this is an excerise! See if color makes it better – you’ve got nothing to lose! So I played with bright colors that I like and that work well together. Here’s the final drawing.

Lines - Color

Lines – Color

Now if I could just learn to shot a properly positioned photo!

 

3 Responses to “November 29, 2013”

  1. Ruth Bailey Says:

    I like the patterns in the grayscale but when you added the colors, it made the patterns sing!

  2. lesliepaints Says:

    You create such amazing things when you go into design and geometric form, Linda. It’s almost like your breathe this on the page. I recall you saying something about math or being analytical or something? Did you? Colors are interesting in this.


Leave a Reply

