Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

November26, 2013 November 26, 2013

Filed under: Abstract,Daily Post,Drawings — lindahalcombfineart @ 8:06 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

I am preparing to do an hour long facilitation of Love Song by Norman Rockwell. This is part of a new program at the Indianapolis Museum of Art and is based on dialogue, open ended questions and deep looking. The viewers guide the discussion so it takes extensive preparation in order to effectively respond during the session. I just started studying the Rockwell and through my locxal library found a set of six videos about American Masters. The series was shown on PBS (public broadcasting) and includes a very good DVD about Norman Rockwell. It also includes an incredible DVD about Alexander Calder. This blew me away!!!!!! I knew nothing about his early days as a artist – what innovation, what inspiration, what FUN!!!! Oh my gosh, I was inspired! Grabbed my markers and colored pencils and went to work thinking about shape and line. I did not capture the sense of lightness that Calder was able to bring to everything he touched but I had fun trying.

Here is my gray color scale drawing. I was thinking about floating shapes and trying to get a good composition.

Homage Gray Scale Drawing

Homage Gray Scale Drawing

I then decided to liven things up by adding color. Calder added fun and interest through movement. Working in 2D I can only add color.

Homage Color

Homage Color

 

 

 

2 Responses to “November26, 2013”

  1. Judy Says:

    Wow, that is fun! You could play around forever with kinetics!

  2. Linda Halcomb Says:

    Judy, you’ve got to see the video I mentioned. He did a wire outline sculpture of Josephine Baker and sort of dances with it…phenomonal! maybe I’ll keep the video longer and have a “showing”!


Leave a Reply

