Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

November 23, 2013 November 23, 2013

Filed under: Acrylics,ATC's,Daily Post — lindahalcombfineart @ 6:04 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

I haven’t been able to post for a few days because I’ve been busy with volunteer activities. I did finish another new ATC for my Christmas gift giving.  As you may know I love geraniums and paint them often. This was my second ATC painted with acrylic paints, a medium I don’t frequently use. I decided to paint red geraniums because my pots are filled with them every summer. I haven’t decided whether to glaze matte medium over the top. The surface is  a little too shiny for my taste. Hope these take you back to warmer weather!

Red Geraniums 2013 - ATC

Red Geraniums 2013 – ATC

 

11 Responses to “November 23, 2013”

  1. ruthsartwork Says:

    I love your geranium paintings. I’ve never used matte medium over acrylics, but that might do the trick.

    • Mediums come in so many forms. They’re really fun to add in your art! The thick glossy one gives a transparent look. You can use it to protect your works as well. They have one with sand in it, beads, etc. They are really great to work in paintings and so much fun!

      • I took one four week class several years ago and that instructor had us use a 50/50 mixture of water and matte medium to mix with our acrylic paints. I should probably go back to that to cut down on the shiney surface. When I’m working so small it doesn’t seem like a good use of material since I just wet my brush and pick up paint. Maybe I’m just being lazy!

  2. Love the texture! Outstanding!

  3. lesliepaints Says:

    Beautiful Geraniums, Linda.

  4. Stacia Says:

    I love geraniums, too! I was amazed that my porch geraniums survived our first two light frosts that killed most everything else!

  5. Carol King Says:

    I love the dance of the red and green. It’s such a vibrant painting.


Leave a Reply

