Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

November 2, 2013 November 2, 2013

Filed under: ATC's,Daily Post,Drawings — lindahalcombfineart @ 5:42 am
Tags: , , , , , , ,

As I mentioned in my last post, I struggled with this drawing, the third in a series of ATC’s I’m doing for my family as Christmas gifts. I am really interested in Western and Native American Art and one of my favorite artists from the IMA collection is Victor Higgins, one of the original group of Taos artists (learn more here). Did you know he grew up in Shelbyville, Indiana? Many of his works are in the collections of the IMA and The Eiteljorg Museum in downtown Indianapolis. But I diverge…this drawing was a struggle and you can see the struggle when you look at the photograph. I had to erase areas that I didn’t like with Dr Martin’s Bleed Proof White. You can see some of this in the photo but this is photographic pentimento. The actual ATC does not show the scratchy looking lower right corner or the heavy outline of the braid. The Bleed Proof White must be so reflective that it shows through when photographed.  I am continually learning… It was the white feather in the photograph that caught my eye. Hence the title.

White Feather - ATC

White Feather – ATC

 

2 Responses to “November 2, 2013”

  1. Carol King Says:

    Great drawing. I can’t believe it’s on an ATC!

  2. Linda Halcomb Says:

    I love doing these. Its such a change!


Leave a Reply

