Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

October 31, 2013 October 31, 2013

Filed under: ATC's,Daily Post,Drawings — lindahalcombfineart @ 6:18 am
Tags: , , , ,

When I start a new series of paintings or drawings the first one flows out like magic, the second takes more effort and the third is a challenge. That is proving to be true with the Native American series of ATC’s I just started. My husband supported two of the schools out west and each year we received calendars. My latest piece is from a painting showing two women doing their daily work. One is looking into the distance. I liked the posture and abstracted it from the painting, making some changes and put the focus on her face.  I tried to keep her expression neutral. I want the viewer to decide – is the object approaching good or bad? Person or animal? I hope many of my works of art let the viewer write their own story…

They Come - ATC

They Come – ATC

 

 

7 Responses to “October 31, 2013”

  1. I love this. I have been involved in the past in an I Dian community in eastern Montana and this piece really resonates with me. Nice work, Linda.

    • Linda Halcomb Says:

      Thank you Robert. I am always fascinated by the spiritual, connected nature of native peoples. Keeps me looking at and thinking about my own life.

  2. Barry Coombs Says:

    My mentor always said that a good painting should pose questions and not answer all of the questions.

  3. Carol King Says:

    Beautiful, Linda.

  4. lesliepaints Says:

    I like this one, Linda. I think it is the hand included and the fact she is doing something. Very cool!


Leave a Reply

