Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

October 28, 2013 October 28, 2013

Filed under: ATC's,Daily Post,Drawings — lindahalcombfineart @ 6:39 am
Tags: , , , , ,

Hmmm, I see a pattern. As with last year, I had a busy Fall season and let my family Christmas presents slip my mind. You may remember that I try to do ATC size works of original art for my close family. I stick them in with their Christmas card and I hope they realize how special this tradition is to me. A few weeks ago I visited the Quest for the West exhibit at the Eiteljorg Museum of Native American and Western Art. This stimulated my interest in Native American culture and I am always inspired by the art of Gretchen Del Rio (see here) which is heavily influenced by native spirit and culture. My first ATC was inspired by a photograph of an Ojibwa woman that is in the opening pages of National Geographic this month. I modified the composition adding a bright harvest moon and pushed the values to create a work that (I hope) reflects a feeling of nostalgia and melancholy.

Ojibwa Moon - ATC

Ojibwa Moon – ATC

Is the moon rising or setting? I will let you decide…

 

11 Responses to “October 28, 2013”

  1. Harriett smith Says:

    Rising……..with hope.

  2. aloha Linda. definitely a feeling of looking back in this. way cool on your ATC tradition as well. aloha.

    • I am always amazed at the amount of detail I can get in something so small. These little guys really suck me in…

      • yeah, i can understand that. i spent a lot of time on ATCs when i was more active in postal art circles. they are fun. as i see it they give us a chance to work on composition almost as a thumbnail sketch yet as a finished work too. i like that. i find working on anything as if it is a finished work or will become a finished work makes working on things i want to BE a bigger finished work an easy step to move into because it’s what i’ve been doing all along. cool and fun. aloha.

  3. lesliepaints Says:

    It has to be the rising of the moon, methinks. Wonderful tradition you have going, there. I like the somberness of the piece.

  4. How kind of you to reference my art and it is gratifying that you enjoy it. I would vote for a full moon….neither rising nor setting but a time for female energy to claim the earth.

  5. ruthsartwork Says:

    My first thought was setting because she seemed sad to me.

    • I didn’t think about this when I added the moon to the design. I just wanted to emphasize her silhouette. But now I see the sun has set and a new moon riding. Melancholy is definitely part of the figure.


Leave a Reply

