Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

October 18, 2013 October 18, 2013

Filed under: Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 5:35 am
Tags: , , ,

This is the final post about my visit to the Napa Valley. I saved the best for last. This watercolor sketch is of the Sterling Winery. Their cabernet sauvignon was my husband’s absolute favorite. When I saw the winery I had to visit. It sits on the top of a hill and you take a 300 foot aerial tram ride to reach the winery…beautiful views of the valley. This winery is at the northern eand of the valley and you have moved past the very dry, sun bleached hills of the south end of Napa. The winery is designed to look like a small village in Greece. Very special, very picturesque.

Sterling Winery watercolor sketch

Sterling Winery watercolor sketch

I liked the overlapping abstract shapes and the clean, bright colors. The large tarnished bell that sits in the arch was brought from Greece.

 

 

4 Responses to “October 18, 2013”

  1. Barry Coombs Says:

    Love it. Recalls one of my favorite lines of poetry…..”O for a beaker full of the warm south” – John Keats (from Ode to a Nightingale)

  2. I would love to visit one day. Nice work Linda.

  3. lesliepaints Says:

    I do like the clean shapes in this watercolor sketch. Enjoying these from your trip, Linda.

  4. Stacia Says:

    Your work reminds me of why I love watercolors – I think they can perfectly express the brightness of a day, which you have here. Makes me want to visit!


Leave a Reply

