Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

October 14, 2013 October 14, 2013

Yesterday we held the opening ceremony for the Watercolor Society of Indiana’s annual juried exhibition. I was lucky enough to be accepted for the third straight year and am really humble because the acceptance was so unexpected. The show includes some incredible works of art. My painting is titled Convergence 2 and is on Arches watercolor board.

Convergence 2

Convergence 2

This was painted early in 2012 not long after I lost my brave man to cancer.  I was thinking about the merging of his energy, his lively, lovely spirit with that of the universe.

This show hangs at the very generous Indianapolis Museum of Art where I am a docent.  For the last five years I have trained a pool of docents so they can use pieces from the show during their tours. For the first time I will be doing tours of the exhibit for the public. Thank you IMA for your tremendous support of the artistic community in Indiana!

 

14 Responses to “October 14, 2013”

  1. Beth Parker Says:

    What a lovely way to give tribute to your hubby’s importance in the universe! Love it!!!

  2. Ruth Bailey Says:

    Oh, Linda! Congratulations! This piece is so filled with energy, and is also centered and complete.

    • Linda Halcomb Says:

      That is exactly what I wanted to communicate. That burst of energy rather like the sparks from a fire when a log breaks a part. They burst forth.

  3. abbieg14 Says:

    This is stunning!

  4. Stacia Says:

    Congratulations! So well deserved!

  5. Jeanne Says:

    Wonderful that your painting is being displayed. How wonderful and a great tribute to Ken!

    • Linda Halcomb Says:

      Thank you Jean. It hangs between two prize winners but I don’t feel like its overwhelmed this year. It holds its own. (I miss that man! he still inspires me…)

  6. ruthsartwork Says:

    Congratulations, Linda. This is a lovely tribute.

  7. lesliepaints Says:

    I liked each and every one of these paintings that you did. Each and every one of them have energy and soul.


Leave a Reply

