Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

October 3, 2013 October 3, 2013

Filed under: Daily Post,Drawings — lindahalcombfineart @ 7:36 am
Tags: , ,

I am so grateful that I have had a few visits during my hiatas. I have been out of touch for several months. I have been uninspired and unmotivated and have been taking a break. Not a total break and so I will do some catch-up and hope that sharing will pull me back into the blog-o -sphere. I have missed my blogging friends and hope to take more time to look at your creative work.

OK now, going back to May. I was luck enough to have a chance to visit Napa Valley with my daughter. She atttended a “bootcamp” at the CIA (Culinary Institute of America). I had time to explore and to do some sketching while she was in class each day. I was fascinated by the golden dryness of the hills at the entry to the valley. Beautiful, rolling , sun bleached but dotted with green…they inspired my first pencil sketch.

Sun dried hills of Napa

Sun dried hills of Napa

I also start my trips with a short shopping expedition. I love scented soaps and scented sprays to spritz on a sun parched face. My first afternoon I did a quick sketch as I sipped an iced tea.

Treasures and Tea

Treasures and Tea

More to follow…I am glad to be back.

 

7 Responses to “October 3, 2013”

  1. Stacia Says:

    Glad you are back! And I look forward to all that you created while you were in Napa. Just a couple of years of ago we ate at the CIA. We were very impressed with the entire operation; your daughter must have gotten a great education! (Does she share the results of her expertise with you? Yum!)

  2. Nuno Says:

    Welcome back!

  3. Barry Coombs Says:

    Welcome back! Your sketches are lovely.

  4. theINFP Says:

    It’s great to have you back 🙂

  5. lesliepaints Says:

    Welcome back, Linda!!!!

  6. Carol King Says:

    I’m glad you’re back too! And with wonderful sketches of Napa.

  7. Chris Carter Says:

    I fell in love with those sun-bleached hills spotted with live oak almost fifty years ago. Each time I board a plane for San Francisco I feel as if I am going home., home to those steep, rolling hills and the aroma of bay mixed with eucalyptus.


Leave a Reply

