Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

April 28, 2013 April 30, 2013

Filed under: Abstract,Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 6:25 am
Tags: , , , , ,

I have been playing with my crayons again. This time I tried to scale up from the small sizes I’ve been doing (5″X7″ and 6″X6″) to a quarter sheet of paper. I worked on a block of Arches 140# cold pressed (CP) paper. I wanted to use many colors and a swirling design because I was thinking about a fiesta or festival of some kind. Dancing, fireworks, movement and color – that’s what I saw in my minds eye. This painting has three layers of crayon. You have to be really careful or the colors all just melt together to form mud. I am still learning about using the crayons and I love many of the colors. Some are dramatic, deep and rich while some are packed with pastel punch. Oh yeah! enough to keep me enchanted…

Fiesta

Fiesta

 

2 Responses to “April 28, 2013”

  1. Carol King Says:

    I love these colors and they certainly remind me of a fiesta. Your ability to use the watercolor crayons and not make mud is astounding.

    • Linda Halcomb Says:

      Thank you Carol! I’m constantly trying to use everything I’ve learned about color theory when I do these. I’m sttill not very sophisticated or skilled but I am learning more every day.


Leave a Reply

