Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

April 25, 2013 April 26, 2013

Filed under: Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 7:02 am
Tags: , , ,

I really admire Barry Coombs and his ability to inspire artists both old and new. I love to watch his blog and to learn (from a long distance away) along with his local students. He recently started a new set of classes so I am going to tag along as I can find time. Here is the link to Lesson 1.

I started by sketching a draft of the composition I chose. I always move things around and reorganize the components – at least a little.

BC Lesson 1 Sketches

BC Lesson 1 Sketches

Then I worked on planning the color scheme and got a sketch I liked the first time .

BC Lesson 1 - Color 1

BC Lesson 1 – Color 1

I did two more color sketches. The first used the warm color scheme that Barry uses so much in his “set ups”. I just blocked in the shapes and the colors were OK but didn’t grab me this time.

Gift Bag Color Study 2

The final color sketch used primary and secondary colors. Once again I blocked in the shapes and I wasn’t dazzled with this color scheme either. All of the color sketches are done in my AquaBee sketchbook. I probably won’t have time to turn these into a painting but completing all of the sketches has been excellent practice for me.

BC Lesson 1 - Color 3

BC Lesson 1 – Color 3

 

4 Responses to “April 25, 2013”

  1. Carol King Says:

    this is great! I love Barry and enjoy your versions of his setups.

  2. Barry Coombs Says:

    Thanks, as always, for mentioning my classes. I’m always flattered that you like my lessons and demos. I enjoyed this post. So nice to see the process.

    • Linda Halcomb Says:

      Even if I never get to a final painting, I think the elements of the process are important. I still hope to find time to follow more of your classes.


Leave a Reply

