Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

April 8, 2013 April 10, 2013

Filed under: Abstract,Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 6:46 am
Tags: , , ,

I continue to make notecards and am enjoying the process and learning as I go. My current problem has to do with artist’s tape. I use the 1″ wide, white artist’s tape and am trying to figure out how long I can leave it on without creating “pulls” when I take it off. Haven’t quite got it right yet!

Notecard 4

Notecard 4

With this notecard I wanted to use darker, more dramatic color.  I like the mix of the gray with the three greens.

Notecard 5

Notecard 5

Once again, I was trying for deeper, more dramatic color but what a difference the reds, oranges and yellows make.

 

8 Responses to “April 8, 2013”

  1. Ruth Bailey Says:

    I use regular masking tape to tape paper to a board when I am not stretching it. A tip I learned from “Cheap Joe” is to press the tape against my clothes, peel it off, and then stick it to the paper. This picks up just enough lint that the tape doesn’t stick as hard to the paper. I don’t know if it will work on your cards as one of the factors is the kind of paper being used, but it might be worth a try.
    I like your different color combinations and I’m always intrigued when you post a step two showing what you’ve pulled out of the suggested shapes!

    • Linda Halcomb Says:

      Thanks for the idea Ruth. I haven’t done anything like that because I need a really tight taping to keep water from running under the tape. The primary reason I’m using tape on the cards is to create a mat effect around the painting. Good idea though. I will probably try it.

  2. Lovely postcards. I may have to follow your lead and make some for myself.

    • Linda Halcomb Says:

      I gave away the cards I’ve made to a group of friends. They are helping me by serving on a committee that plans luncheons for a large group and they work hard. They were were very pleased to have them. Great way to say thank you!

  3. lesliepaints Says:

    That notecard #4 really rocks, Linda. I think it is because there is some whit of the card left for contrast.

    • lesliepaints Says:

      THat’s white, not whit. 🙂

      • Linda Halcomb Says:

        I agree Leslie. One problem I’m having with the notecards is the agressive movement of the water. I keep leaving more and more white but the water always seems to cover the card and therefore I have color everywhere. I am trying to get some big bubbles with the shrink wrap. If they stay in place they protect some whites.

  4. I use blue painter’s tape. Cheap and doesn’t affect the paper.


Leave a Reply

