Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

March 24, 2013 March 25, 2013

Filed under: Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 5:54 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

More drawing with my watercolor crayons…for this piece I used warm and cool versions of the primary colors and wound up with a warm patchwork of earthtones.

Primary Colors Study 1

Primary Colors Study 1

When I saw the results I immediately thought of the hills, trees and rocky ravines in southern Indiana. I have sanguine and sepia drawing pens so I decided to do an ink drawing over my study. Indiana is a state that has very flat farm country in the north and hills and deep ravines in the south. During the last ice age a glacier stopped its southern movement in the southern part of the state. This (again) is on my 5″ X 7″ Liquid paper.

Primary Color Study - Landscape

Primary Color Study – Landscape

 

 

 

10 Responses to “March 24, 2013”

  1. Stacia Says:

    Study 1 could be “Cabbage”, yet you artfully made it into what really does look like our state’s limestone ravines – very clever!

  2. lesliepaints Says:

    I’m from the flat part of Indiana but appreciate this southern part of our State and the parks with areas such as the above. Wonderful mixed media, Linda.

    • Linda Halcomb Says:

      Thank you Leslie! I really enjoy going to Clifty Falls and Spring Mill State Parks. Indiana has areas that are really beautiful.

  3. theINFP Says:

    Beautiful 🙂

  4. I love this way of seeing things and expanding upon them them.

    • Linda Halcomb Says:

      Thank you Richard. This year I hope to do more of this by using watercolor to do negative painting.

  5. hannekekoop Says:

    Beautiful, Linda. And I love the landscape you saw in it.


Leave a Reply

