Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

March 23, 2013 March 24, 2013

Filed under: Abstract,Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 4:55 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

I have been playing with my watercolor crayons. I have been doing studies to see how the colors mix and behave when wet. I always have trouble working with green because its hard to get a range of values. I did not get a wide range of values but this was just FUN to do. It is on 5″ X 5″ Liquid watercolor paper. This one has multiple layers of crayon and I learned that each new layer can wash out the vibrant layer below and you loose texture with each new layer.

Green Study using Caran d' Ache Crayons

Green Study using Caran d’ Ache Crayons

Next I tried a study using analogous colors of blue. I love the results. The first layer was done by spraying the drawn on colors and using shrink-wrap to give texture. After this was dry I floated a small pour of paint over the center area. When I saw the results it spoke to me of a frosty winter morning. This is on 5″ X 7″ Liquid watercolor paper. Learning – don’t forget to leave some white!

Blue Study - Frosty Morning

Blue Study – Frosty Morning

Finally, I decided to work with reds and pinks and oranges and yellows. I’ve had difficulty capturing the vibrant, glowing Indiana autumn so that’s what I wanted to do with this one. I worked on 9″ X 12″ Arches CP paper. Here are the results.

Red Study - Indiana Autumn

Red Study – Indiana Autumn

So, I am learning and playing and enjoying and going back to my childhood, crayons in hand! What fun!

 

 

8 Responses to “March 23, 2013”

  1. These results are beautiful and exciting.

  2. Linda Halcomb Says:

    Thank you Gretchen. This type of fast, loose work is helping me get back to working on my art every day. Probably should quit using the word work for what I do. maybe that’s the problem with my motivation.

  3. Harriett Says:

    I love the frosty morning. I can FEEL it.

  4. ruthsartwork Says:

    These do look like fun. The frosty morning one looks like frost on the old single pane windows when we were growing up.

  5. lesliepaints Says:

    What an interesting exploration, Linda. The color and patterning in these are so intrigueing! I assume this fluid watercolor paper responds differently than others?

    • Linda Halcomb Says:

      Thank you Leslie. Fluid is a cheap brand and it seems to be hot press although I’m not sure of that. I think, because it is cheaper, they don’t have as many options. I bought two small blocks of paper when it came out and like to use it to play when I get stuck.


Leave a Reply

