Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

March 19, 2013 March 19, 2013

Filed under: Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 4:08 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

I enjoyed working with the Caran d’Ache crayons so much that I decided to do an actual painting. I just bought four pears at the market and thought “perfect subject”.

One Pear

One Pear

This Bartlett pear had beautiful color but an odd, squat, rounded shape…but color was the thing and the shape didn’t matter. I got the texture by using the crayons, spraying with a squirt bottle and then letting it dry with plastic wrap on top. I was learning how to control the process a little by the time I did my second little painting (added a Red Bartlett pear). Both are on Liquid watercolor paper and the square one is 5″ X 5″ and the rectangle is 5″ X 7″. This was fun and the Caran d’Ache colors just seem to bloom when sprayed with water becoming very vibrant.

Two Pears

Two Pears

 

 

 

 

 

 

28 Responses to “March 19, 2013”

  1. sketchjay Says:

    Very. Nice Linda!

  2. Harriett Says:

    Vibrant is the right adjective for that pear. Lovely, another.

  3. Ruth Bailey Says:

    Your pears are glowing with light, Linda. Very nice.

  4. theINFP Says:

    Great colours and I like the technique with the plastic bag.

  5. judy Says:

    Linda, my husband walked by the computer screen when I had “Two Pears” up and said, “Wow! That’s great! Where’d you get that?!” 🙂

  6. Art Spiffy Says:

    Love these. I agree pears are the perfect subject. 🙂

  7. The color is wonderful Linda.

  8. Carol King Says:

    Are Caran d’Ache crayons like oil pastels? I really like the vivid colors and the texture from the plastic wrap.

    • They look like crayola crayons but, like watercolor pencils, they dissolve in water and can be used many different ways. I had a small set of Cheap Joe’s before my workshop but Warren let us use the stubs of his old Caran d’Ache set and what a difference. I think Cheap Joe’s seem very waxy but my new set is lush and creamy and the colors have more pigment and brilliance. Fun to use!

  9. ruthsartwork Says:

    I like these pears, Linda, especially the one pear and its background. I will have to visit Warren Taylor’s site to get a handle on this material since I have not heard of it before.

    • He does a phenomonal workshop. His traditional style is very tight with creative topics but he is very loose and spontaneous when working with the crayons. He incorporates colored pencil, watercolor, and watercolor crayons and does paintings and collages. I bought one of his paintings and love it!

    • Stacia Says:

      Oh, I agree: I love the ONE pear best! I love that it’s squat, the colors, and the texture. I also like the square format. Everything about it is refreshing!

  10. jeighdeigh Says:

    Simple, beautiful, very effective.

  11. hannekekoop Says:

    These are beautiful, Linda.

  12. artimagica Says:

    Mmmmm. I love your Two Pears!

    • Linda Halcomb Says:

      Thank you! I got to jazz the color in the purple pear. Red pears always look like Indian Red to me…not very exciting.


Leave a Reply

