Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

March 13, 2013 March 14, 2013

Filed under: Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 7:14 am
Tags: , , , ,

I have started a new round of color stability testing. It includes a retest of the results that were questionable when I did my review this week. I also added 40 Caran d’Ache watercolor crayons that I bought after my Warren Taylor workshop. I really like working with them. They give a rich, creamy feel and look. Very soft and deep. I just added the new samples to the study that I had in process and intend to keep the both studies in bright sunlight. Now I wait….

Mew Color Stability Study started 03132013

Mew Color Stability Study started 03132013

 

4 Responses to “March 13, 2013”

  1. Many years ago I was creating batik paintings using Rit dyes. I sold them all and about 2 years later my customers started coming back and telling me that their paintings were fading and disappearing. I did them over using procion dyes. It was not fun, but I learned a great lesson about using quality materials.

  2. I have a painting that I did in the mid-80’s. It was my first half sheet painting and it was of geraniums. The first painting I had professionally framed. It hangs in the entry hall in my house. Just in the last two years I have noticed the reds fading and now I think the blues and greens are fading. I probably painted it with student quality paints…lesson painfully learned!

  3. Carol King Says:

    I haven’t been painting long enough to notice any fading, but you’ve made me nervous. Now I have to go back and check.

    • It was John Lovett at Splashing Paint that gave me the incentive to do this. He posted trhe results of a study he did and he had several failures. I was really surprised that the pencils had so many failures. I am very glad I did it.


Leave a Reply

