Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

March 8, 2013 March 8, 2013

Filed under: Abstract,Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 7:43 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

Wow! January 24th to March 8th, something like six weeks, what happened Linda? To make a long story short; four tax returns, two large boxes of files to sort and make decisions about, and (so far) six feet of files to be shredded. And I’m still not done…

Two weeks OK I was so unfocused and brain fuzzy from sorting and shredding that I made myself get back to art. I started working on a second Indiana Autumn painting. Unfortunately (or fortunately?) I decided to paint on a surface I was unexperienced with using. I had purchased plate surface illustration board for the Cheng Khee Chee workshop and decided to give it a try. I understood that the surface was hard and slick and that the paint would not be absorbed so I worked on small sections and allowed the paint to dry thoroughly between painting sessions. My usual style of abstract painting allows me to work with a high degree of freedom and spontaneity. It allows my colors to merge and to play together and that is part of my inspiration. It took me two weeks of working on this painting to get finished and the painting has some good stuff and some bad.

Indiana Autumn

Indiana Autumn

One of the things I struggled with while painting the Indiana Autumn paintings is that Indiana autumns are all red and gold – there is not a lot of diversity in the values you see. I was really unhappy with the darker sections at the bottom of the painting where I tried to introduce some deeper values. Anyway, I am currently thinking about cropping the painting to save some of the good parts and discard some of the bad. I am playing with cropping on iPhoto and here is one possibility.

Indiana Autumn - Cropped

Indiana Autumn – Cropped

I don’t know how much more time I will spend on this. I still have lots of files and shredding to deal with. And I want to get back to Barry’s lessons. I did make the improvements he suggested and I did start some compositional drawings before I got distracted by my administrative responsibilities. I guess that’s LIFE!

 

12 Responses to “March 8, 2013”

  1. Ruth Bailey Says:

    Glad to see you painting again, Linda! I like the first one, but I like the cropped version even better. I think the negative shapes are better, and the bigger circle on the left becomes more dominant and becomes a better center of interest.
    I’ve used illustration board in trying to paint miniatures, and it does require a different approach than watercolor paper! Nicely done.

    • Linda Halcomb Says:

      Thank you Ruth. I appreciate your comments. I agree that the large circle gives a strong focal point and I like that.

  2. Stacia Says:

    I’m not an artist so this isn’t an educated comment, but I prefer the uncropped image. It looks more reminiscent of an Indiana landscape to me. For me, the cropped image takes away the sense of sky and vista.

    • Linda Halcomb Says:

      Stacia, you hit on exactly the struggle I’m having. I was trying to capture thye Big sky, big glow of the Indiana autumn. I had trouble getting nice texture on the lower right and tried several techniques. Maybe I’ll go back and work on it again.

  3. Jonathan Day Says:

    Hurrah! Linda is back! Hurrah! May shredding and filing reach their end soon!

    Lovely work. You do some real magic with wet-into-wet. In my view, this surface is working well for you. There is a great sense of movement and change, and a reminder of those fall moments when the warm and the cool are right next to each other.

    • Linda Halcomb Says:

      Thank you Jonathan. It really helps to get new eyes on a painting. This is one of those times that I really miss Ken. Even though he wasn’t an artist he had gotten good at identifying what felt wrong to him. I appreciate input from my blogging friends. It is very helpful! You folks are always the first to see my work these days.

  4. Ah yes….all that left brain stuff. I think that trying out something new will always gift you something. We need to overlook our expectations around results and take the teaching away with us.

  5. ruthsartwork Says:

    This Ruth is glad to see you back too, Linda. LOL There is nothing good or easy about doing taxes. With my husband’s business, it is way to complicated for us and we let our longtime CPA do it. Doing my part is complicated enough for me.

    I kind of like the uncropped version too. I miss the greens.

    • Maybe I’ll try a vertical version of cropping to save some more greens. I thought about that. I’m still playing on iPhoto and haven’t really done any cropping yet. The reds are really much brighter than you see here. I am not quite sure why the photo faded them out so bad.

  6. lesliepaints Says:

    Hi Linda,
    Good job on the clearing out files! You inspire me to get up and keep at some of what I want to tackle.
    I like the uncropped version. I like the texture in the darks at the bottom. Makes me feel as though I am looking down, from an angle, at a grove of trees. Indiana has no mountains, but those red shapes look like distant mountains to me. I just saw the movie, “OZ” and this is very “OZ”-like. I like it very much.

  7. […] an earlier post that you can view here, I talked about Indiana Autmun 2 and how challenging it was to create. This painting is done on […]


Leave a Reply

