Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

January 24, 2012 January 24, 2013

Filed under: Abstract,Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 9:37 am
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

As I mentioned in my last post, I want to improve my ability to paint realistic (but not photorealistic) works in watercolor. I admire the lessons that Barry Coombs posts on his blog. Barry just started a new term and has been posting his weekly assignments. Using his week one class, I completed preparatory studies and included those in my last post. I struggled through the painting and am posting it below.

Barry Coomb's Class -Week One

Barry Coomb’s Class -Week One

First of all, I cannot believe how much Barry’s students accomplish in just three hours. Incredible work and incredible talent. Here is my painting. It was done on 140# CP Arches paper and is  9″ X 12″.

This morning I saw a absolutely beautiful abstract – one of the most powerful I’ve seen in ages – on my friend Chris Carter’s blog. As you know I paint abstracts and love looking at them. I was blown away by this painting and wanted to share it with you. Enjoy

 

28 Responses to “January 24, 2012”

  1. Beth Parker Says:

    You did a beautiful job on this, Linda!! I love the boldness of the color, too! Yummy!!!

    • Linda Halcomb Says:

      Thanks Beth. I don’t know where Barry gets the items he uses in his demos but the colors are beautiful and they integrate so well.

  2. Chris Carter Says:

    I’m thrilled that you like the painting! It’s a great technique that unlocks all sorts of responses.

  3. Barry Coombs Says:

    Nice work. May I make a few suggestions? With the lamp directly above the still life, the side walls of the jars could be a bit darker. Just from the shoulder down on the left jar. It’ll pop out the light on the fruit even more. Also, the undersides of the spherical oranges and limes could be a bit darker.

    Love the ripples in the fabric.

    By the way, I’ve tried to follow your blog but I don’t get email updates of your posts. Not sure why.

  4. Ruth Bailey Says:

    Beautiful job on this still life, Linda. And how nice of Barry to stop by and give you such helpful suggestions!

  5. aloha Linda and way cool on your powerful focus to your painting, art and blog.

    i see some very intriguing things here and that excite me to paint. something i keep saying to myself, yet i have not gotten back into the painting studio more than a couple of times this year.
    sheesh.

    i like the heat in this, and playing off that with the cool greens. cool. and fun. aloha.

    • Linda Halcomb Says:

      Aloha Rick, I keep telling myself – JUST DO IT. I went for several weeks at the end of last year without doing any art. I kept asking myself WHY? Still don’t know…just lost the spark.

      • “Just Do It” is perfect imo. anytime I am stuck, that is a great way to get me going.

        yeah, too, I have down times sometimes. time when I’m not doing as much or I’ve lost interest in something. my thoughts are: be easy on yourself when this happens. sometimes there is a reason, interruptions, events, meetings, appointments. it’s okay. just get back into your art when you are able to do so.

        or.

        switch what you are doing up. go to something that does appeal to you that is different than what you have been doing. something you’ve been wanting to try, or has caught your eye etc. do that until you want to go back to your base.

        it’s a good time to look around too. I know you do a lot through your museum connection. try some other exposure sources than your usual ones. galleries, art magazines, online and off line exhibitions. explore areas you might not usually seek out and see what they are about. then give something along those lines a try.

        I don’t get out a lot. so this works for me. I think you may get out more so you may need to approach it a little differently. your travel to the Gulf shore seems to have given you good material. travel often offers new perspectives and ideas, so when possible make use of that.

        online prompts and assignments, exercises etc. these are good sources too.

        It seems to me that you got yourself out of the break on your own with the new year. so give yourself credit for that too.

        we both know enjoyment and fun are a key to wanting to do something more and again. so go for that. fun and learning are a good step toward excitement and adventure in anything we do. you are doing fine as far as I can see, just keep at it. Just Do It. especially the fun part. aloha

  6. hannekekoop Says:

    Next that I find it beautiful, the effect of the colours amaze me, Linda. So much warmth comes from it.

  7. Stacia Says:

    As with your Jan. 9 post, I like what you do with orange!

  8. jeighdeigh Says:

    Beautifully finished. A very fine piece of work.

  9. I am also working to improve my watercolor skills. For me watercolor is controlled spontaneity. I have the control part down, but need to work on (or not) the spontaneous part! I also love to mix complementary colors for the shadows. Unifies the painting and eliminates any use of black, which I think deadens the color. Just my opinion. Good luck and keep at it; also, check out Deborah Fowler Greenwood on my blogroll. I taught with her for many years and admire her paintings- oils, watercolor, acrylic and pastel. Her work is incredible.

  10. Carol King Says:

    Beautiful, bright, juicy painting. And I love that Barry critiqued your work. How cool is that. I agree with you, I don’t know how his students accomplish so much in 3 hours. He must stand over them with a whip. 🙂 (Only kidding, Barry.)

  11. ruthsartwork Says:

    Love all of the orange color with just a hint of yellow and green. They really pop with the dark background and the table.

  12. lesliepaints Says:

    This is so rich and warm! It glows, Linda.
    I think Chris is an extremely talented artist. I have learned quite a bit from reading her blog. Now, if I could only use the knowledge as well as she does. Practice. Practice. 🙂

  13. I also follow Barry’s posts Linda. As with Leslie, he’s been a great help to me over the past few years.

  14. Stacia Says:

    Doing anything more lately?


Leave a Reply

