Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

January 19, 2013 January 20, 2013

Filed under: Daily Post,Drawings,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 7:41 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

I mentioned in my last post that I wanted to focus my attention on improving my ability to paint realistically. Over the last two years I have been consistently impressed by the teaching, paintings and generosity of Barry Coombs. He posts his lessons and examples from his classes on his blog (see my Blogroll). I have always thought I would benefit from trying the exercises he teaches in class. Well, the time is now and he has just recently started a new term. Here is the link for week one.  I started by making a series of compositional sketches using Barry’s “set up”. His compositions literally glow with vibrant color so I was itching to move on but I made myself THINK as I did my sketches.

Compositional Sketches - Barry Coombs Week One

Compositional Sketches – Barry Coombs Week One

I thought the final two compositions were the best so I darkened the basic outlines and moved on.  Next I completed color sketches using the last two compositions.  These were done in a Bee sketchbook that handles watermedia (although not like WC paper). These are not meant to be finished paintings but were helpful as I determined my color scheme. I decided to use Barry’s original color scheme with a very dark background that is primarily brown. I hope I get started on the painting today. The pile of shoes he used for week two is beckoning!

Color Sketch 2

Color Sketch 2

Color Sketch 1

Color Sketch 1

 

 

13 Responses to “January 19, 2013”

  1. I’m glad you are having fun and expanding your expertise. Sometimes I sit and look at a developing piece of art and then try something that I have never done before. It pushes me and I like that.

    • Linda Halcomb Says:

      I am trying to take think of this as a serious learning opportunity. I’ve learned not to fear failure and to enjoy the challenge – hard for my type A personality.

  2. Carol King Says:

    I love Barry and am thrilled that he always posts his lessons and shares valuable knowledge. I think you did a great job here. I also saw his pile of shoes and thought that it would be so much fun to try. Good luck!

  3. hannekekoop Says:

    They’re lovely, Linda. Those colours are so warm.

    • Linda Halcomb Says:

      Thanks Hanneke. I’ve drawn the actual painting but haven’t started painting yet. I’ve been watching our Presidental Inauguration all day.

  4. jeighdeigh Says:

    I like them both — your customary incandescent color. For what it’s worth, and I’m not sure why, but I like the one on the right a lot better.

  5. Barry Coombs Says:

    Love seeing the sketches and the colour studies. I push this kind of preliminary work with my (studio) students. Sound process leads to successful product.

  6. aloha Linda, i like the painterlyness in both of these color sketches. a great sense of water and watercolor comes through in that. fun. aloha.

  7. Hi Linda
    It has been ages and I hope you are well.
    As soon as I saw these I thought of Barry – he is a good guy hey?

    Man I just love your rich colours here – it is good to see you working away still.


Leave a Reply

