Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

January 18, 2013 January 18, 2013

Filed under: Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 7:32 am
Tags: , , , , ,

I have decided to spend more time trying to develop my ability to paint realistic watercolors. I won’t give up painting abstracts, which I love, but I feel remarkably clumsy when it comes to realistic work. Before my workshop with Cheng Khee Chee I did a drawing to take to the workshop. I did not use it because it was on 9″ X 12″ paper and was really too small for the processes we were using. This week I worked on this painting and the results are below.

Ruins 1 - 140# HP Arches - 9"X12" Watercolor

Ruins 1 – 140# HP Arches – 9″X12″ Watercolor

 

This composition had a difficult challenge – the major movement is horizontal and vertical. I used the cypress in the background, the diagonals in clouds and the subtle diagonal placement of the red flowers to add interst.  I am not happy or unhappy with this painting. It is a good starting point for the year.

When Ken and I lived in Germany for six months we were in awe of the ancient ruins and the commitment to preserve history and heritage. It was evident in every country we visited. That was my inspiration. I tried to show the freshness of nature against the beauty of past civilizations (the work of man).

 

6 Responses to “January 18, 2013”

  1. You have a winter project!! I think that adjusting focus brings new life and that is usually rewarding. Looking forward to your upcoming creations.

    • Linda Halcomb Says:

      I have made a start! I remind myself – its just paper. There is no failure – just learnings and challenges we accept.

  2. artimagica Says:

    Hi Linda! Thanks for stopping by my site. It was nice to hear from an old friend. I think this work came out well. I find realistic watercolors to be SO hard. Kudos for having such a beautiful and strong start!

    • Linda Halcomb Says:

      I agree. If I can ever find the spontaneity and fun that I feel when doing abstracts I think I will have it whipped. (Well AFTER I acquire the skills!)


Leave a Reply

