Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

January 11, 2013 January 11, 2013

Filed under: Daily Post,Drawings — lindahalcombfineart @ 7:19 am
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I took my three daughters and their familes to Gulf Shores for the holidays. Ken and I loved Gulf Shores. When I worked on my MBA, Ken would pick me up after my last final in December and we would start the 12 hour drive to the sandy beaches. Our anniversary is in mid-December so we used these vacations as a time to celebrate. The most interesting story I have from our time there was about the native’s reaction to snow. One December we were staying at the State Park in Gulf Shores (buildings destroyed but hurricane Ivan, I think) and they had their first snowfall in 15 years. The response to less than an inch of snow was very dramatic…schools closed, servers sent home, road crews responded…for someone from the snowy north pretty extreme stuff. I’m not making fun but we did enjoy the reaction – after we found somewhere to eat dinner!

My daughter, Heather, was the shell collector on this trip. She walked on the beach every morning looking for specimens that she did not already have. I have never found crabs on the beach before but she found three whole, unviolated specimens. The birds had not had time to peck them to pieces yet. I used one of her finds for this sheet of sketches. The page includes gestural, contour and colored pencil sketches. Very fun to do.

Sketches and colored pencil drawing - Gulf Shores

Sketches and colored pencil drawing – Gulf Shores

 

4 Responses to “January 11, 2013”

  1. Harriett Smith Says:

    Love the drawings….and the memories!

  2. Linda Halcomb Says:

    Thank you Harriett. Everyone is saying “When are we going back?”

  3. Carol King Says:

    So nice that you were able to go to the Gulf with your family. Love the crab.

  4. aloha Linda – congratulations on your anniversary.

    and way cool on this page of sketches. it’s a beauty in itself. and that final crab in color and value rich surface texture – awesome study. way fun. it is easy to see your heart is in these. very cool. aloha.


Leave a Reply

