Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

January 8, 2013 January 8, 2013

Happy New Year to everyone! As you probably realize, I have been on hiatus. During November I was chairman for a 125 person, 17 vendor luncheon and bazaar for the Association of International Women and during November and December I was touring at the Indianapolis Museum of Art at about 5X our normal rate. Usually we do 1-2 tours per month and I was doing 8 or 9 tours each month. The museum is built on an estate that was owned by a member of the Eli Lilly family (as in Lilly pharmaceuticals). When the Art Association of Indianapolis needed a home for a new museum in the late 1960’s the estate was donated by the Lilly family. The original home is now a national historic landmark and the museum’s largest work of art. The family donated the home with most of the furniture and decorative arts on the first floor in place so we have a unique and special situation. The home is always decorated for the holidays with designs from 1920-1940. It is very popular and quite beautiful. We had huge crowds this year and I am always glad to see so much interest in something so historically important to the area. If you’re interested in learning more click here .

I wanted to share a photo of the Best in Show for the Watercolor Society of Indiana’s Juried Show. The painting is a watercolor collage done by Peggy Brown.

Peggy Brown - WSI Juried Show Winner

Peggy Brown – WSI Juried Show Winner

I took a workshop from Peggy several years ago and she is universally respected and admired. The link to her website is in my blogroll. Peggy has a very unusual process that she also uses to create marvelous art quilts.   I hope you will check it out.

Wishing everyone a great Tuesday, happy New Year and success in 2013.

 

 

9 Responses to “January 8, 2013”

  1. You have been busy, Linda. Life one step at a time.

    • Linda Halcomb Says:

      I try. The last few months were complicated by all my memories. I hope to get busy with my art again this week.

  2. Beth Parker Says:

    WOW! I am impressed, Linda! You really had a huge honor and responsibility chairing that meeting. Congratulations! I’m going to go check out the link for the Lilly house. Sounds fascinating! I’m sure the holidays were pretty rough for you and it probably helped to be so busy. ((hugs))

  3. Jonathan Day Says:

    Yes — quite impressive. I’m very happy to see a new Linda Halcomb post. Happy New Year to you!

  4. hannekekoop Says:

    Thank you for the link to Peggy Browns’ site, it’s beautiful. Linda, I wish you a wonderful and happy New Year too.

    • Linda Halcomb Says:

      I adnire Peggy so much. She is truly unique and Peggy and her husband opened their home to us during our workshop. Very generous people.


Leave a Reply

