Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

October 23, 2012 October 23, 2012

Filed under: ATC's,Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 7:56 am
Tags: , , , , , , ,

We have storms blowing in and rain is pounding outside. Seems like a good time to show you the second little painting I did from a monoprint in Cheng Khee Chee’s workshop. I explained the technique in my last post. Here is the second monoprint I did. Both monoprint 1 & 2 are small – probably about 6″ X 9″.

Monoprint 2

With these colors and the textures and shapes in the middle, I could see a flower garden so that’s what I decided to develop. I did positive and negative painting and also used colored pencils. If you need to lighten an area the unsized paper will swallow watercolor but colored pencils will do the job. Here is my flower garden.

Monoprint 2 – Finished

I actually wanted to spend more time working on this but I had reached the point of diminishing returns. Probably back to my ATC’s. Enjoy some summer on this sodden Fall day!

 

19 Responses to “October 23, 2012”

  1. Delightful painting, Linda. One thing that I like about watercolor is that it has a mind of its own. With your new process some of the work is done for you and you can orchestrate the finish. Perfect!

  2. Judy Says:

    What a fun technique that is, and what a downright pretty picture!

  3. Carol King Says:

    This is great. I love the technique. And what you’ve done.

    Storms and pounding rain? Uh oh, I guess it’s coming our way.

  4. lesliepaints Says:

    I like the weight the colored pencil gives to this painting, Linda.

    • Linda Halcomb Says:

      Thank you Leslie. I was surprised at how well the paper held up. Kozo has long stands of fiber. That’s why it’s so strong.

  5. hannekekoop Says:

    Lovely technique. The result is beautiful, very much summer.

  6. ruthsartwork Says:

    This is such a fun technique. You can never predict what you might see in the abstract.

    • Linda Halcomb Says:

      I want try it with my grandkids and maybe some friends. Sort of sets you up for success!

      • ruthsartwork Says:

        I got an idea from a friend, too. She said when she had a watercolor that just didn’t turn out, she cut it up and made bookmarks out of it. I did that with some watercolors I did with this technique, and then laminated them. They made great gifts.

  7. I love this mono print…it so effectively creates a powerful emotional response. It really on the cusp between abstract and representational art.

  8. Carol King Says:

    Hi Linda, It’s been a while since you posted. Just checking in.

  9. Jonathan Day Says:

    Absolutely magical painting. And, yes — I hope you’re OK.

  10. Jonathan Day Says:

    Also — I would like to wish you a Merry Christmas, and a Happy New Year!

  11. Francis Jong Says:

    Happy New Year Linda, wish you good health and happy always and of course many wonderful painting to share with us.


Leave a Reply

