Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

October 4, 2012 October 4, 2012

Filed under: Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 5:50 am
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

I have finished another piece I started in the Cheng Khee Chee workshop. My work is very rough but I was fairly happy with what I learned through this exercise. For this process, he uses plate finished illustration board and gloss gel medium to create texture. He applies diluted gel to part of the sheet to create the foundation for texture usually as part of a landscape. He doesn’t do a drawing but sees what developes when he applies color to the area. The whole process is very organic and he works primarily in earthtones and blues. The gel must be dry before you start painting or you create acrylic paint. He washes the uncoated surface with water and a sponge so it will accept paint better. On my exercise I had gel where I didn’t want it so I have some weird areas but this was fun to work with and, (looking at his work), I can see that you can get some remarkable paintings.

Gel Exercise (sorry for glare from the flash)

 

 

12 Responses to “October 4, 2012”

  1. hannekekoop Says:

    Linda, I love it.

  2. I love the color and the texture. Very nice, Linda.

  3. Stacia Says:

    I’ve never heard of this technique. I’m learning so much from you! I do love the dramatic, earthy effect of this process.

  4. lou elio Says:

    Great color choices… You really get a sense of distance

  5. ruthsartwork Says:

    I love the colors. You have achieved a sense of depth here.

    • In the workshop, he took eight in process pieces of ours and provided a critique. He also moved them to a finish. It was a really learning process. Told us alot about how he thinks about composition.

  6. aloha Linda – this looks great. you have a great feel of depth – and the surface of the water going back into that depth – very cool. do more. do more. this is a fun process you are exploring. aloha.


Leave a Reply

