Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

October 2, 2012 October 2, 2012

Filed under: Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 10:13 am
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Two weeks ago I was lucky to be able to attend a five day watercolor workshop conducted by Cheng Khee Chee. It was a remarkable experience and I learned a phenomonal amount. Each day he taught a new process and over the last week I have been working with two of the processes. Before the workshop, he stresses that he wants you to learn the process and not to worry about creating masterpieces. (Believe me, I did not create masterpieces!) Cheng Khee is kind and generous and brings to bear both eastern and western styles and philosophies. I found his basic philosophy about watercolor to be fascinating. That is that you bring the media to its most natural state so you use watercolor best in a wet-on-wet environment. His work is lyrical, fluid, spontaneous and evocative. You can visit his website here.

The first day when we worked wet-on-wet with a realistic subject I made a mistake by working too small. I have been scaling up and painting large abstracts so I used only about 1/8th of a sheet of Arches. The painting of Eileen Donan castle is small, tight and very mediocre.

Eileen Donan Castle

I followed this up at home with a painting using a quarter sheet and with no preliminary drawing. I had prepped this paper with a green, yellow, gold underpainting with the intention of doing a sepia drawing of a tree. The paper was there calling my name so I painted something I have been thinking about for along time. My house is backed by large, old, sort of raggedy evergreen trees that are very nice for privacy and blocking noise. I watch their tops sway in the wind. Here is my more wet, more spontaneous painting. Much better I think!

Top of the Tree

 

14 Responses to “October 2, 2012”

  1. judy Says:

    Linda, I think this may be my very favorite of your paintings. The blurriness absolutely conveys the motion of the wind and the intensity of that spot of red/orange is just plain exciting. I really love this one!

  2. Harriett Smith Says:

    I can FEEL the movement of the tree. I like this picture as well as anything you have ever done. It is so STRONG….and yet so ethereal.

  3. Beth Parker Says:

    Yes! I really love that tree painting, Linda! It looks like you were happy while painting it!

  4. Carol King Says:

    Hi Linda, Great watercolors. I love the looseness of the tree. And thanks so much for providing the link to Cheng Khee Chee. I’m off to check him out.

  5. lesliepaints Says:

    That tree is gorgeous! I have long admired Cheng Khee Chee watercolors and the way he makes a painting look “alive” and the energy he imparts. Your tree excites the same!

  6. hannekekoop Says:

    They’re so beautiful, Linda.

  7. ruthsartwork Says:

    I love the tree, Linda. I wonder what the castle would look like if you went back and added more detail with more of a dry brush? Maybe you would like it better.


Leave a Reply

