Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

September 15, 2012 September 15, 2012

Filed under: Daily Post,Drawings,Portraits & Self Portraits — lindahalcombfineart @ 8:42 am
Tags: , , , , ,

After I finshed preparing for the State Fair I was sort of like a ballon deflating. I felt a strong need to take a rest and regroup. Now, like a bad penny, I’m back, a little shinier after spending several weeks reading, thinking and resting. I am ready to get back to painting, drawing and doodling. I started by immersing myself in faces. My old friends know that I love to find a face that fascinates me and then I change it to make it my own. I’ve noticed that it is usually the eyes that hook me. I put my toe back in the water and here’s the result…a face depraved and with the potential for evil. Wonder what that means!

Gangsta Man

The drawing was done with a set of warm gray markers and is about 10″ X 12″. I made the eyes green. I wanted them to glint like emeralds.

 

13 Responses to “September 15, 2012”

  1. Chris Carter Says:

    I love it….. true character and personality!

  2. Harriett Says:

    This is fantastic…….and odd as it may seem….refreshing!

  3. Beth Parker Says:

    I love it, Linda. She seems to be saying… Seriously? You want me to believe that old line? She’s wonderful!

  4. hannekekoop Says:

    A wonderful and fascinating face. What is going on in his mind, I wonder.

  5. ruthsartwork Says:

    What an expressive face. I though “uh oh” about him even before I read your description. LOL Maybe it was the green eyes.

  6. lesliepaints Says:

    I love this, Linda! I also like your description of the eyes being dominant in what you see while you form your faces. I like the shapes and shadow to this…. He speaks!


Leave a Reply

