Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

July 26, 2012 July 27, 2012

Filed under: Daily Post,Drawings — lindahalcombfineart @ 7:12 am

I am trying to get my art ready for the Indiana State Fair. I am entering 3 “experimental” paintings (i.e. my abstracts), 3 drawings and 3 traditional watercolors. I finished my last piece, a drawing, yesterday.

At the Duckpond

I actually started this probably two years ago but didn’t like it because it looked too manicured so I pulled it back out and did some major revisions. Much better now. I am using a set of Cool Gray markers. I think these create a very interesting look.

The site is near a culvert at the end of the Duckpond at Ft Benjamin Harrison State Park in Indianapolis and it is much more overgrown today than it used to be. Now you cannot even see the water channel. Maybe I’ll try it again…the drawing is about 9″ X 12″ on cream paper.

 

4 Responses to “July 26, 2012”

  1. You sound busy, Linda. It’s nice that you captured the scene prior to it changing. A time line.

  2. Carol King Says:

    Good luck with the State Fair. I like your drawing very much.

  3. ruthsartwork Says:

    Good luck at the state fair. One of these days I will get my act together and try to join you.

    I like the lights and darks here.

  4. JoAnne Davis Says:

    Linda, this is beautiful! I ran across this randomly while looking for old Fort Ben photos online. I saw some of your other works too, they are equally amazing. 🙂 I am a volunteer at the park and a member of the Friends Group. We are a support group for the park and help it by raising money, sponsoring projects and events, and offering our time as volunteers. If you do Facebook at all, check us out at http://www.facebook.com/FriendsofFortHarrison. We also have a monthly meeting the first Thursday of every month at 7pm at the Visitor’s Center.


Leave a Reply

