Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

July 18, 2012 July 19, 2012

Filed under: Abstract,Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 10:35 am
Tags: , , , , , , ,

It has rained small amounts all around but so far we have got virtually nothing. Indiana has lost 30 percent of the corn crop and some farmers are thinking about cutting beans and using the stalks as fodder. The drought is classified as “extreme”. I don’t even worry about my grass anymore. My worries just seem petty.

I finished a new painting. Once again my thoughts are consumed by this horrible weather and our 100 degree summer. We may get a break today and tomorrow with slightly lower temperatures and the sky is cloudy but that really doesn’t mean much. This painting is 100 Degree Summer – 6. It is a half sheet of 300# Arches torn lengthwise. It has lots of green and teal and shots of orange and red. I think I was torn between cool water and wanting to see some green grass. Everything got jumbled up but I think it made a pleasing painting. May it cool and refresh you!

100 Degree Summer – 6

 

12 Responses to “July 18, 2012”

  1. Beth Parker Says:

    Linda, I am feeling your pain … and your heat. It’s supposed to be 107 here this weekend. I’m mostly worried about the livestock that will be suffering. It’s a good thing I don’t have cows. I’d be out there with a hose every day. I love this painting! It really shows the heat and humidity. I hope there’s a storm brewing in there too. 🙂

  2. Ruth Bailey Says:

    I think you must be pining for water. I see a stream of it running through the middle of this painting but hidden under the surface!

    • Linda Halcomb Says:

      I am absolutely pining for water and rain. We need it so badly. We had a bad storm last night and got a little rain. We will be happy for anything we get.

  3. lesliepaints Says:

    This is definitely a painting depicting the longing for something cooling in this heat. Another thought that came to me is the warning about blue algae growing in many of our recreational lakes in Indiana due to heat, dry and pesticide runoffs. I don’t know if you have heard about this but you captured the blue-green of that algae.
    We had an inch of rain early morning today and they have said it will do little to turn the drought around, but it was welcomed. My lawn had a little olive green look to it this AM but has returned to its brown-black tonight. Good job, Linda!

    • Linda Halcomb Says:

      One day of respite and half an inch of rain. I am enjoying our one coller day. Tomorrow is back to the mid to high 90’s and Monday they are projecting 102. Is it as bad in your part of the state? My computer room gets so hot (farthest room from the AC) that I can only spend a short period on the computer.) Sigh…

      • lesliepaints Says:

        Yes. Nineties today and ninety-nine tomorrow. These last couple days have not bothered me at all, so I am hoping for these 30% predictions of rain each day come Wednesday…..

  4. Carriellen Says:

    Beautiful painting!

  5. Linda…It is indeed a pleasing painting. Love the colors, but sad that it depicts the miserable weather you are having. Breaks my heart to hear about all the loss associated with this drought. We in Central Washington have typical warm summer weather…hot days, cool nights, and plenty of snowpack this winter to water the crops…but I feel guilty when I use my water to green up the lawn. Prayers for rain!!

    • Martha, thank you for your prayers. Our drought is now classified as exceptional which is the worst (worse than “extreme” if you can believe it!) I am so glad part of the country is having weather that is typical. For many of us it is too much heat or too much rain. My spirits are a little better this week so I must be adapting…

  6. Carol King Says:

    I like these abstract paintings. I would love you to show us a bunch of them together.


Leave a Reply

